Monday, March 24, 2014

MI - Sex Offender Fee Changes Take Effect Next Month

Original Article


LANSING (AP) - Registered sex offenders in Michigan are required to pay an annual fee starting April 1.

Gov. Rick Snyder signed legislation in November requiring Michigan's more than 40,000 registered sex offenders to pay an annual $50 fee. The new fees are intended to cover the $600,000 a year cost to state police to operate the sex offender database.
- 40,000 * 50 = $2,000,000 dollars.  So where is the rest going?  And why does it cost $600,000 for police to do their job and update the registry?  Isn't that extortion?

The bill sponsored by Republican Sen. Rick Jones replaces the system under which sex offenders paid a one-time $50 fee.

The law only applies to registered sex offenders who are out of prison. People who prove that they are indigent can get a fee waiver.

Snyder says the law brings Michigan in line with neighboring states that require sex offenders to pay for the operating cost of sex offender websites.

The only state that honors the constitution

User story
The following was sent to us via the "Tell Us Your Story" form and posted with the users permission.

By John Doe:
In 1994 I entered a "Best Interest Plea" in Tennessee for a charge of rape against my then 9 year old niece while a custody battle ensued.

A plea bargain of 1 year in jail and 7 years of probation as opposed to 30 years in prison.

My now dead lawyer never said anything about the SOR of which then I would have had to register for 10 years only. But as you well know the US(SS) has changed the laws so much that I would have had to register for life. After 2 more terms of registry violations I went through each states requirements on sex offender registration. Most of them are written from the same idiotic politicians trolling for votes. I thought I was screwed for life. The I came to Alaska's laws. If your offense was prior to the enactment of the law in this case 1994 you don't have to register in Alaska even if your registered in another state for life. The lawmakers tried to change this several times but the Alaska state constitution says no way it's gonna happen. It's expo facto period and we the people of Alaska abide by our and the federal constitution. So now I'm living in Alaska where I am not required to register. What a relief.