I have a document from a friend of mine, who also is a SO. He works for a Lawyer. I recently asked him if he could give me information on requirements to register in each state. I would like to provide that document to you or just forward the e-mail he sent me. I think it is very valuable since each state has different requirements for how soon you need to register after arriving. Times range from 24 hours to 70 days in some states. California requires 5 days but if you are registered in California and travel on vacation in California and stay 5 days or longer you are required to register in that jurisdiction. I think this information is worth publishing and I have been given permission to do so. I tried to send an e-mail to your Gmail account but I kept getting errors. If you send me an e-mail I can return the mail with the information. Thank you
Thank you all for your feedback.... and if this is your first e-mail from me on this subject, I ask you to read this, read the attached .doc info for your clients/yourself... and feel free to feedback...
A few things are clear:
- nearly 100% people affected by this are unaware of these laws... and while they may get permission to travel from their PO (while on vacation) they haven't been told about the facts/requirements.
- so far 100% of psychologists/ therapists that deal with this cliental did not know of this requirement (I have asked them to spread the word)
- 100% of attorneys that deal with this population were not aware of this (I have asked them to spread the word)
The majority opinion I have received was the assumption that one had to re-register only if one moved (changed domiciles)
There is little or no info/discussion with or regarding visitation/vacationing and requirements therein.
Therefore a person making progress and truly trying to overcome his/her past... is in jeopardy of being tossed back into jail in another state, receiving a fine and felony for lack of knowledge.
Or even within California somewhere in California more than 5 days! (note enhanced explanation in attachment.. this stipulation will more likely effect most people/clients)
And just look at the requirements.. some states have 24 hour... one has 70 days requirements!
Lastly, and most importantly, since most your contacts under these rules are in California (where they live and in which most will likely vacation) need to know the 5 day rule.
"Go to Tahoe for a week... on the 6th day if you're not registered with localities there... it's likely 18 mos jail and a fine"... and a felony.
... all when they thought they had permission to travel, etc..
Help in anyway you can to distribute this important information.
We certainly don't want to fill jails and fine people already stretched financially due to a misunderstanding and/or non-disclosure.
Thank you for your help in this matter. Feedback is valued.
Click the image to enlarge
"They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." - Benjamin Franklin (Bill Of Rights)