If you look at the articles below, especially the first one, you will see that the fees are $25 for Tier I and II offenders, who have to register once per year, and $25 per registration for Tier III offenders who have to register four times per year which brings the total to $100 per year.
It was told that this county is trying to get offenders to pay $40 per visit, which is $15 more than it should be.
It is advised that you mention the above, and if they don't agree, ask them to show you the law that says it's $40 to register.
NOTE: If they insist you pay the $40 fee, then I would, and get a receipt, if possible, then contact the Ohio ACLU and tell them about it. This is either extortion (a crime), or just pure ignorance of the law. If they are trying to extort money, which may or may not be the case, then they know that most won't object to it, since they may be threatened with jail or prison. So pay the fee, then contact the ACLU and a lawyer.
See the comments below this article. We did contact the Ohio Attorney General and the Clark County Sheriff department, and both replied.
We have several articles below, which clearly show you what the extortion fees are:
- State of Ohio, extorting money and keeping the money making machine rolling! (See this first)
- Sex Offenders Must Pay To Register In Butler Co.
- Ross County - Stoops to Extortion Fees for Sex Offenders
- County to charge sex offenders to register
NOTE: We have no way to verify what the person who said this, is true or not. So it may be true, and again, it may not be. We are simply relaying a comment that was seen elsewhere, and are not saying this is a fact!